Unbuilt Postwar UK airplane designs with innovations in air-air combat

DeltaDagger

Aerospace research into forgotten UK innovations
Reaction score
I'm studying at Imperial College, UK and working on airplane design in the defence sector. A particular focus is UK innovation in air-to-air combat.

I know that many textbooks and histories examine successful airplane designs but I was wondering which projects (postwar-date) didn't make it into production but contained some great air-to-air combat designs.

Can you suggest any particularly novel ones? Thanks!

An interesting question. This forum has a lot of discontinued airplane designs, its kind of the reason the site exists. However, what UK designs can properly be considered innovative in air-air combat?

As a overview I would recommend British Secret Projects: Jet Fighters by Tony Buttler.

The Hawker P.1216 is a pretty interesting design, documented in a ProjectTech book by Mike Pryce.

http://www.secretprojects.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,6661.0.html

It had a very innovative configuration and was designed for supersonic V/STOL capability and agility with a single vectored thrust engine.

I'd also include more well known ideas like the SR.53. Mixed propulsion was definitely an innovation at the time.

First three that come to my mind are:
-BAE Replica
-British Aerospace P.125
-Hawker Siddeley P.1154

Unbuilt Postwar UK airplane/helicopter designs w/ air-air combat innovations

Many thanks for these interesting references and ideas. I shall certainly look into them!

I've been advised elsewhere to consider the P.1224-8 if anyone knows where I can find information on this?

In addition, I'm also interested in helicopters, both in terms of airplanes attacking them and defending against them. Perhaps they've been developed as innovative weapons or reconnaissance platforms but not deployed.

If anyone can suggest suppliers or models of relevant helicopters, that'd be great.